A Can of Pumpkin

3 Oct

There are so many things I love about this time of year.  Cooler weather, comforting foods, the holidays on the horizon, and of course, the infamous duo, pumpkin and spices.  I admit, I was a Starbucks’ pumpkin spice latte lover for a very long time, but what a shame, there’s dairy in it even if you order soy, no whip.

Lattes aside, we’re currently experiencing unseasonably warm weather here in SoCal, and it’s depressing.  100+ degrees when I’m already nostalgic enough for falling leaves?  Get me out of here.  So I’ve been doing my best to tap into what I love about this time of year while fighting to keep cool.  Chocolate-Covered Katie saw into my sad soul and posted a recipe for a pumpkin spice frappuccino, totally healthy and of course, vegan.

My favorite canned pumpkin, Farmer’s Market. Organic and no BPA!

I’ve always been nervous of recipes that call for anything less than a can of pumpkin.  How am I going to use the rest?  Will it go to waste?  Now I can only laugh at the notion of not knowing what to do with delicious pumpkin – you eat it, duh!

I popped open a can and managed to whip up 5 different things throughout the week.  This is what a can of pumpkin can buy you:

1. Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino (CCK)

2.Two servings of Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffin (CCK)

3. Toasty Pumpkin Chickpea Fritters (Happy. Healthy. Life.)

4. A smoothie made from almondmillk, frozen banana, a tablespoon of pumpkin, and a packet of Starbucks VIA Pumpkin Spice (which I don’t recommend spending your hard earned money on).

5. One serving of Pumpkin Pie Smoothie (Oh She Glows)

There are a bunch of vegan pumpkin spice latte recipes that I meant to try, but it just didn’t cool down enough to justify.  Maybe by November?!  Here’s hoping.  All of you living in cooler climate (JEALOUS) should swap one of these smoothies for a latte and check out this recipe from Happy. Healthy. Life.: Pumpkin Spice Latte.  Or have Pumpkin Baked Oatmeal from CCK!  Seriously, just eat every delicious, warm pumpkin thing you can get your hands on and rub it in my face.

Never again will I wonder how to use a half a cup of pumpkin.  I’ll be too busy eating it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

