The Beginning of the End

2 Dec

I’ve been flirting with veganism for the last year and a half.  I haven’t had red meat or poultry since I was 16, but it was only more recently that I discovered dairy hated me big time.  I turned to the veg-heads of the internet for advice, and found a whole new world of food.  But along with the delicious food, I discovered an important message – we have got to tread lighter on the earth if we want to have a place to live.

It was hard to digest at first.  I love sushi, but the research I read about how our oceans are being destroyed to supply our huge demand made me a little sick.  The fact that my favorite leather bag once was a loving animal who died too young set heavy on my heart.  The fuel I require to drive might force the US to issue a pipeline through precious land.  My comfortable lifestyle suddenly didn’t feel very comfortable at all.

So that’s why I’m dedicating the next year of my life to treading lighter.  I already eat 95% vegan – it’s time to make it 100%.  I’ll retire my bag and swear not to buy anything made from leather, wool, or silk for the entire year.  I’ll bring my own shopping bags to the grocery store, and consolidate my trips to conserve the most gas.  I’ll run outside instead of on a treadmill, and grow my own herbs.  It’ll be a year of conscious consuming, and I hope a year of practice will form habits that can spill over into the rest of my life.

The purpose of this blog is two-fold.  First, if I’m documenting my experience, it’ll hold me accountable.  Do I want to be publicly shamed for not being able to resist salmon sashimi?  Nope!  Second, I hope my journey will inspire others to live more consciously, even in little ways.  The reality is that I’m used to a certain standard of living, as are most people, and I hope to find ways to translate how I live now into a more sustainable way of life.  If everyone makes one small change here or there, that’s going to make a huge impact.

The thought of never having fine cheese or sushi again bummed me out big time, but a year?  I can do that.

One Response to “The Beginning of the End”

  1. Meghan December 3, 2011 at 10:31 AM #

    You can do it! I started out the same way, and now I’ve been vegan for almost nine months. It’s fun if you can laugh at yourself. If you’re ever feeling discouraged, read through the earliest posts in my blog archive – if THAT girl can do it, anyone can 🙂

Leave a Reply

