Back in LA

7 Jan

I love my family, but amidst all that vegan-wedding drama, I’m happy to be back in a land that knows what’s up. Also, the toilet seats are not half as cold as they are in PA right now, and that’s a fact.

It was a long flight, and Sam does NOT stock the refrigerator to my standards, so I decided to spoil myself with delivery from Real Food Daily. While their standard salads aren’t so great, I can always count on their weekly salad specials. Those are some of the best salads I have ever had in my life, no joke. Upon delivery, I dived face first into La Vita E’ Bella, which was an amazing Italian-inspired creation with yellow beet angel hair “pasta,” mixed greens, tomatoes (sundried and cherry), roasted red peppers, tofu cheese, and smothered in pesto vinaigrette. Heaven in my mouth. Usually I can make two meals out of a salad (makes me feel less guilty paying $15), but I was so starved for fresh veggies, I devoured it.

Since I was already sinking $6 to get it delivered, I was having a difficult time rationalizing an $8 dessert, so instead I opted for a peanut butter cookie. Holy what!! I must’ve had my expectations crazy low, because this blew my mind. Perfect texture, just enough moisture, and thrilled me to no end. Sam raised an eyebrow at my ability to finish both the salad and the cookie the size of my hand, but whatever, dude. Let me revel in pure vegan bliss.

Leave a comment