Color Me Green

3 Feb

Never in my life did I imagine I’d one day enjoy green smoothies, because nothing sounds appealing about lettuce and celery blended.  But the crazy beautiful nutritionist Kimberly Snyder changed all that for me with her Glowing Green Smoothie recipe and her promises that it tasted sweet and delicious.  Okay, I’ll bite.

My Glowing Green Smoothie

I’ve been making this baby for over a year, and find when I stop for a while, I miss the burst of nutrients and energy in the morning.  I actually just ended a two month hiatus, as my CSA box lately has been root vegetables and not so many leafy greens.  I was totally inspired when my box came yesterday with romaine, kale, celery, cilantro, and tangelos.  Perfect for smoothie making!

I highly recommend following Kimberly’s recipe to start, which will give you a better feel of what the proportions should be, but once you get the hang of it, go crazy!  Today I chopped up a head of romaine, 6 big dinosaur kale leaves (torn from the stem), 4 stalks of celery, a pink lady apple, a tangelo, a frozen banana, a handful of cilantro, and the juice of one lemon.  Behold!  A green smoothie that totally glows.

I have Kimberly’s book, The Beauty Detox Solution, and it’s filled with great nutrition advice that’s inherently vegan (though has options to help omnis lean into it).  It’s a little intense – no gluten, no soy – but all of her recipes are delicious and her advice is sound.  In the months leading up to my wedding, I can definitely see myself getting gung-ho about it, but in the meantime, I’m a happy dabbler and enjoy the occasional smoothie.

One Response to “Color Me Green”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Smoothie Time! « Treading Lighter - February 9, 2012

    […] you’ve read my post on the beauty of Glowing Green Smoothies.  But while greens are wonderful, there’s a whole world of blended delicacies to explore! […]

Leave a Reply

